Daily Numbers 23/01/2012

ADDS

CIOO-FM Pub 16 Canada-Hot AC Halifax 19/RCA Bell Media 13 1/19/2012 10:14:00 AM
CKCW-FM
Pub 0 Canada-Hot AC Moncton 19/RCA Maritime Broadcasting System 30 1/20/2012 9:22:00 AM
WLAN-FM
Pub 13 Top 40 Lancaster 19/RCA Clear Channel Communications 111 1/23/2012 8:04:00 AM
KTYL-FM
Pub 8 Hot AC Tyler, TX 19/RCA Townsquare Media 144 1/23/2012 10:51:00 AM
KPSI-FM
Pub 0 Hot AC Palm Springs, CA 19/RCA R&R Radio Corp. 132 1/23/2012 12:25:00 PM
KLTG-FM
Pub 0 Hot AC Corpus Christi, TX 19/RCA Tejas Broadcasting 137 1/23/2012 1:07:00 PM
KLLY-FM
Pub 0 Hot AC Bakersfield 19/RCA Buckley Broadcasting Corporation 75 1/23/2012 2:41:00 PM

ITUNES US

BTIKM #861

RADIO

Combined (All formats) AI
ADAM LAMBERT Better Than I Know Myself 0.970 (+0.060) * (3 days update)
*Update from 19/01-1

C HAC
51 44 ADAM LAMBERT Better Than I Know Myself 126 107 19 1.402
-3 Spins
-16 Bullet
-0.040 AI

CHR
96 84 LAMBERT, ADAM Better Than I Know Myself 71 46 25 0.172*
*Update from 17/01-12.

HAC
45 42 ADAM LAMBERT Better Than I Know Myself 201 147 54 0.723
+14 Spin
+3 Bullet
+0.057 AI


Distance to competitors

The distances chart reflects the relative movement of BTIKM to selected competitors. These are typically songs that BTIKM is likely to pass when moving up the chart, or songs that are likely to pass BTIKM. Green text indicates that BTIKM gained on the song in question compared to yesterday’s update, while red text indicates that BTIKM lost terrain to the song in question.
The actual daily changes are the +/- numbers in parantheses. Finally, when using the term “ahead of” then BTIKM is higher on the chart than the song in question. Conversely, the term “away from” means that BTIKM is lower on the chart than the relevant song.

47 spins ahead of YTG (+12)
46 spins ahead of Nickelback (+10)
25 spins ahead of Adele (+25)
3 spins ahead of Outasight (=)
3 spins away from Jack’s M (+16)
6 spins away from Kid Rock (+34)
13 spins away from Bush (+15)
27 spins away from Cook (+22)

Updates in context:

Top40

HAC

AC

STARTERS/LEADERS CHR

STARTERS/LEADERS HAC

*Starters are stations that have spun the song at least twice in the indicated period. Leaders show the top 20 stations that spin a song 7 times or more in the indicated period.

17 Responses to Daily Numbers 23/01/2012

  1. fuzzywuzzy1 says:

    So this is the official adds date for BTIKM for HAC, yet the song only has a handful of adds from pretty small market stations. Is this a rather negative sign or too soon to regard it as such?

    • lob says:

      Obviously it is not a great sign. I had hoped that RCA had gotten some big ones on board, but that is evidently not the case.

      On the other hand I don’t think it is a disaster either. I don’t know. I’m feeling rather zen about this song, maybe because of all the great buzz coming from the UK about the rest of the album.

      As long as BTIKM does decently, I think it would be no harm, no foul as long as they then release one of those “monster-hits” next. And realistically, BTIKM has another two months to build before the album drops and a lot can happen in two months.

      tl;dr – we’ll see.

  2. fuzzywuzzy1 says:

    Thanks, lob. 🙂 It just seemed to me that there were a lot of glowing comments on twitter, etc. about this album, so I think that may have increased expectations for BTIKM. It seems a bit odd to me that if there are “monster hits” on the album, that they wouldn’t lead with releasing one of those first. I’ve questioned exactly who has been making all of these comments and how meaningful they are (eg. actual music critics from legitimate media sources, PDs from major radio stations, etc.). I’m not sure how objective these comments are.

    • lob says:

      Objectivity is of course always a question, and I don’t think any of the reviews have been posted by people who really influence what’s being played at radio. It’s been mostly general music bloggers and the like. But what I take away is that the praise is pretty consistent and covers quite a lot of people by now.

      Naturally it is not a gurantee of anything, but it is a good sign, imo.

      Regarding the choice of lead single, I have no idea what their thinking was. Especially if BTIKM does not represent the rest of the album. But it may be to serve as a link between old and new Adam as some have suggested. Whether that was good thinking is hard to say atm. I don’t know if anything Adam could have released would have just zoomed up the charts in the US at this stage of his career. So in that respect it might be a smarter strategy to release something safe and WWFM-like to break the waters. Then, once people have realised that Adam is not dangerous to play and like, hit them with the real stuff.

      I don’t know. I could be talking out of my arse here, but I think things are a little muddy atm and I would love to be a fly on the wall in some of the RCA strategy meetings.

      • fuzzywuzzy1 says:

        Thanks for the response, lob. 🙂 Very good points.

        “I don’t know. I could be talking out of my arse here, but I think things are a little muddy atm and I would love to be a fly on the wall in some of the RCA strategy meetings.”

        lol That would be very interesting for sure!

  3. pickuup says:

    Fussywuzzy1, go over to Adamtopia numbers thread. They are disecting the different perspectives there. I hope that could help.

  4. pickuup says:

    Lob, don’t you think Adam and his label learned something from the last era re radio refusing to play an uptempo song of his?

    Remember the only one radio warmly embrazed was WWFM. IIHY was relunctantly embrazed and see how fast radio let it go.

    I am thinking he is trying to ease himself back unto radio as conservative and possible and once he has achieved that objective, unleash a more uptempo song on them.

    He can’t seem to win on radio it seems.

    Anyway, looking forward to the song picking up soonest!

    • lob says:

      Hi pickuup. Not meaning to ignore you there but sometimes work comes in the way …

      As I said in my reply to fuzzy above, I do think it is possible that they are using BTIKM as a “safe” way for Adam to reenter US radio. Question is just if it will work, and it is still too soon to say, I think.

  5. saga says:

    I think the adds are pretty terrible to be honest. I don’t expect this song to do much now unless it somehow manages to show strong sales.

    • lob says:

      Well, I’m still not quite at the disaster stage yet, mostly because I cannot fathom that RCA wouldn’t have done their homework. But I really, really do hope that if BTIKM is significantly underperforming compared to their expectations that they will pull the plug on it quickly and release something more immediate. It is at times like these that it becomes really frustrating that we don’t know what’s going on behind the scenes.

      I’m willing to give it another couple of weeks before I start going all gloomy (well, I must admit I was a little gloomy this morning when I saw that the song had not entered the top40, which I had kinda expected). And in those weeks I’m probably going to be flip-flopping a hundred times a day in my own head (might be slightly overreacted, but I know I have changed my mind a few times today).

      Ahh, the joys of following a song on the charts when you have no information other than the charts and no real experience in it. How I’ve missed it. lol.

      • saga says:

        Yeah but RCA not securing ANY HAC adds… that’s RCA not doing their homework imo. We’re not even talking CHR here.

  6. lob says:

    Yeah, that is what has me worried. I just still have a hard time believing it and so am wondering if there is something happening that we are not yet privy to. I’m probably just being delusional (but I really hate it when I cannot see the logic of something, and I fail to see the logic behind the BTIKM release and the way it has been handled, which makes me think that there must be something going on that I just don’t know about that would explain everyting) <- holy run-on sentence there.

  7. saga says:

    Inside RCA you mean? Or just something with US radio? I don’t love BTIKM but this feels like it is something more than song issues. But I don’t know if the song is doing well in any other country…

    • lob says:

      I don’t really know what I mean tbh. I agree that it cannot just be the song. I don’t love it either but it is not a bad song. I’m just seriously confuzzled at the moment. Which is why I’m giving it another couple of weeks before I call my personal quits on it.

      From what I see it is not burning up the charts in the rest of the world either. But honestly i haven’t been paying that much attention and it seems like international promo is just barely starting.

      I know that Adam/WWFM took a long time to grow in Denmark and was adopted really, really late by the national public service stations. None of them seem to be playing BTIKM (yet) that I can see and neither does the Voice, which was a big supporter during era 1 (although much more for WWFM than IIHY). On the plus side some of the local stations are playing/giving test spins. Imo too soon to say for DK at least.

      Regarding the UK, I said, when I first heard BTIKM that it would fit on BBC2. I still think that but I cannot hear it on radio1, and I think Adam probably needs radio1 to break the UK. Since radio1 is what is currently playing at work, I have not heard BTIKM on the radio and I have not been looking for playlists etc elsewhere. On another note, I have heard Kelly’s singles quite a bit on radio1, Stronger more than MKIA.

      • saga says:

        I would switch singles for the UK release, which they’ve said will be in march, but I don’t think it’ll happen. LOL, I would switch single NOW in the US but that won’t happen either and, again, I am not sure it’s a matter of song anyway.

  8. fuzzywuzzy1 says:

    I’ve heard that they are going for a worldwide album release. Is BTIKM going to be the first single everywhere? I like the song, but my tastes are so far from what’s currently played on CHR that doesn’t mean anything. lol Somehow, things aren’t looking too good at this point radioplay-wise.

Leave a Reply

