Holiday Music

So it’s that time of year and I love holiday music. And gingerbread lattes. Mmmm…gingerbread lattes.

Anyway, I’m always looking for new holiday music. I like all sorts of holiday music, even if it’s not the type of music I typically enjoy. For example, I love The Weepies All That I Want (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A0EJbr0rFV4), which is way folkier than I usually go for. More to my usual taste is the dippy electropop of Where Are You Christmas (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9yfDLiPoLzg).

I loathe Sarah McLachlan and am indifferent to BNL but love love love their mashup of God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen and We Three Kings (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HGVNzgUxE-g).

Any recommendations? 

One caveat: I hate hate hate Little Drummer Boy. Adam and Guetta could team up for a remix of that song and I still don’t think I’d like it.

8 Responses to Holiday Music

  1. saga says:

    A post! And gingerbreads!

  2. zizou says:

    Ughhh, I don’t have a clue about Christmas music…I mean I can sing you 10 different types of Greek traditional carols but when it comes to American Christmas songs….The most played song now here is Last Christmas by Wham and a gazillion covers of it lol!
    Well I love this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7MBvCyF7aMU but it’s nothing new I guess..

    • jtfacts says:

      Oops, I didn’t realize holiday music would be so American-centric. I thought Europeans had holiday music too! I’d love to hear an example of traditional Greek carol.

      I like Santa Baby…I have the Madonna version.

  3. samantha says:

    JTF — Here’s something new from Brad Walsh. Hope you like it!!

    http://tinyurl.com/2vjt7ed

    Right click on link and save.

  4. fuzzywuzzy1 says:

    I love holiday music too, JTF, but love Sarah McLaughlin! LOL! I’ve never tried a gingerbread latte — it sounds delicious! I tend to like my holiday music rather traditional. I think that Josh Groban’s album “Noel” from a couple of years ago is a real masterpiece of holiday music, and I love Jaymes Taylor’s Xmas album too.

  5. jtfacts says:

    Thanks for the suggestions guys! I’ll check them out. I like traditional music too, fuzzy, particularly choirs like the Vienna Boys Choir and the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

    Holiday music I’d recommend avoiding would include Owl City’s Peppermint Winter. I just came across it on iTunes I loved Fireflies, but Peppermint Winter is just waaaay too sugary for me.

    Eggnog lattes are a close second to gingerbread lattes on the holiday latte yumminess scale. Starbucks has a creme brulee type one that’s good too.

  6. fuzzywuzzy1 says:

    I’ve seen the Vienna Boys Choir live. They were AMAZING! 🙂 I’ve also seen a few live performances of Handel’s Messiah over the years.

Leave a Reply

