Hit Or Miss? Tipsy: Big Heed And Alien

Sirius Hits 1 is playing this one alot lately- whataya think?

9 Responses to Hit Or Miss? Tipsy: Big Heed And Alien

  1. jchang365 says:

    It’s not bad, but I think it sounds too urban/rhythmic. Not sure.

  2. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    I agree that it does in the beginning, but the chorus is kind of different. I love listening to it in the car.

  3. jtfacts says:

    I kinda like the chorus, but the verse is meh. Kinda lazy rapping. I agree with jchang that this is most likely too urban for CHR.

    For drinking songs, I prefer Bottoms Up feat. Nicki Minaj (sexist video alert ahoy!).

    • planetangst ( Studio57) says:

      I am sick of Bottoms Up- my kids played that to death awhile ago. And I am already sick of Nicki Minaj. I hate how lablels stcik her on EVERYONE’S songs now, it’s irritating as all hell. I do still like her song with Sean Garrett, Get It All, though- probably because it’s not played to death.

  4. jtfacts says:

    I really like Nicki as a featured artist; she’s great on Monster, like her on Dutty Love, Bottoms Up, etc. I think she’s a really good rapper and it’s great to see a woman in that genre. Her debut album and the MCR album are probably the two albums I’m most looking forward to this fall. My only concern with both is that the lead singles aren’t super-promising. Your Love or whatever is HORRIBLE and makes me wonder if Nicki can carry a song by herself/whether her label will let her be a rapper and let chips fall where they may (i.e., not a lot of CHR play). Na Na Na or whatever is obviously much better than Your Love, but it’s nothing new punkwise and that’s a little disappointing after Black Parade.

    • planetangst ( Studio57) says:

      Don’t get me wrong, i love Nicki but they are just really getting close to overexposing her. My absolute favorite is her rap in Lil Freak, as dirty as it is, especially when she somehow can manage naming Santa’s reindeer and making it sound cool, lol.

      I agree- I am really not into her solo efforts at all.

      I think I just read somewhere that Nanananana wasn’t going to be the lead single off of MCR’s new album- was kind of shocked to hear that since they did a video for it. I also agree that it is really going to be hard to match the success of Black Parade. That album was sooooo good. I wore the hell out it.

      I don’t know if I would really categorize them as punk. I just consider them alternative like Green Day.

      • jtfacts says:

        Speaking of dirty, Nicki was great in Woo Hoo! As far as overexposure, maybe it depends on what you listen to? I don’t feel like she’s made much of a dent in CHR (Your Love didn’t do that great in that format) and I usually listen to that more than rhythmic/urban. Lately I’ve been listening to my local rhythmic station more, so I hear her a bit more.

        Interesting news about NaNaNa. I wonder if the label got bad feedback on the song? My local alt station played it a lot at first, but I haven’t heard it recently. I guess MCR aren’t punk, but like Green Day they are definitely punkish (NaNaNa strikes me as quite Ramoneish, but too damned long). Punk and punkish get lumped in with alternative, although I would personally never define a band as successful as Green Day alternative at this point. Ditto for KoL, Muse, etc.

        Speaking of punkish, I saw Social Distortion at HoB in AC last night–much better venue than the Borgata Event Center, imo. I wish Adam had played there instead!

  5. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    I just meant overexposure by being a featured player on everyone’s songs. My radio is usually either tuned to Hits 1 or The Heat on Sirius and it seems like she is always on there, lol.

    The whole label thing ( alt, punk, etc) sticks in my craw, lol. Just call it all rock and the world would be a better place 🙂

    I love the lead singer from SD- such a distinctive voice! How were they live?

    • jtfacts says:

      Good! The lead singer’s banter was pretty bad…he came across as drunk/high when he talked, but I don’t think he was.

      The floor was more active than I was expecting, with a ton of crowd surfers!

Leave a Reply

