Hit Or Miss? Neon Trees 1983

7 Responses to Hit Or Miss? Neon Trees 1983

  1. lm2718 says:

    Did not like their first song though it is really catchy. This one is similar and I do not like it either so I’m guessing it will be a hit 🙂

  2. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    haha. I don’t like this one either. I did like the first one- something so distinct about the lead singers voice but this is almost TOO 80’s for me.

  3. jchang365 says:

    No, this isn’t as good as Animal. I don’t think it will do as well.

  4. mariettejb says:

    This seems exactly the kind of group that can have one cross over hit and then it is back to the core formats. Kind of like Kings of Leon and Lady A.

  5. jtfacts says:

    Yay for a girl drummer! I now love this band!

    I like the song just fine, no more or no less than Animal. It’s good to have more rock on CHR and this band is more rock than M5 and just plain better than WTK. I agree with Mar, however, that Animal is likely to be their crossover hit and then it will be back to their core format for them.

  6. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    What is their core format- this band seems pop, not rock to me.

    • jtfacts says:

      Judging by when formats added Animal, I’d say alt rock is their core format. Since then, Animal has crossed into HAC and pop. Online alt rock stations like YRock, which actually plays a lot of alternative music unlike a lot of broadcast alt rock stations, was playing Animal months and months ago.

      For me core pop artists are people like Ke$ha, Gaga, P!nk, Bieber, Miley…Neon Trees has very little in common with artists like that. They have more in common with a band like the Killers. The Killers had crossover success in pop, but I’d say their core format is still alt rock. I think pop rock might be the best description for both bands, but given what CHR and alt rock stations play these days, I think alt rock is a better description for both bands rather than pop.

Leave a Reply

