Daily Numbers 9/27/2010

COUNTDOWNS/SYNDICATED SPINS

VH1: IIHY #14 (snippet shown)
AT40 POP: IIHY #17
AT40 HAC: IIHY #29, WWFM #16
Rick Dees (HAC): IIHY #24

1 Fox All Access
? KANE (2 last week)
? OHP (1 last week)

ITUNES

#33 iTunes

RADIO

PC spins at 3:11 AM

POP
16 16 ADAM LAMBERT If I Had You 4853 4715 138 23.269
+21 Spins
+2 Bullet
-0.161 AI

HAC
18 18 ADAM LAMBERT If I Had You 1681 1508 173 8.876
+23 Spins
-17 Bullet
+0.165 AI

Canada POP

Canada HAC

Updates in context:

Top40

HAC

Distances to competitors

POP
298 spins ahead of FEM (-211)
115 spins away from Airplanes (+73)
253 spins away from OR (+12)
768 spins away from Posner (+71)
951 spins away from M5 (+139)

HAC
108 spins ahead of Taio (-26)
270 spins away from Iglesias (+9)
357 spins away from Lady A (+2)
444 spins away from Paramore (+110)

Starters POP

Starters HAC

17 Responses to Daily Numbers 9/27/2010

  1. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    If it’s lucky it’ll be #15 for a day. FEM’s Like A G6 is now #2 on Itunes and is going to start getting even more ridiculous updates. I don’t get the love for that song.

    • indybeck71 says:

      Like a G6 is a horrible song IMO. It’s from Interscope and $ must be involved is all I can think of. Now that it’s so high on iTunes it seems there is no stopping it, sigh!

      (Question: How is “Like a G6, like a G6…” considered a good hook and catchy; I do not get it.)

      Hopefully, IIHY will get #15 for more than a day later in the week. Cooler Than Me and Misery are dropping pretty rapidly — and here’s hoping they fall even more rapidly this week. 🙂

      • jchang365 says:

        I genuinely have big love for “Like a G6.” I don’t know what to tell you if you dislike it, but everything in that song works for me. The beat, the girl’s part, the rapping part, even the lyrics and I don’t even know what they mean (I don’t think anyone knew what G6 meant until this song). If a song is #2 on iTunes, I do think it deserves to get big updates. It always had a pretty high iTunes ranking even when it was toward the bottom of the chart, so I don’t think it’s just because radio is starting to play it a lot now. No one is forced to buy songs.

      • planetangst ( Studio57) says:

        yeah, you can’t really argue with sales. radioplay yes, sales, no

    • indybeck71 says:

      Like a G6 is a horrible song IMO. It’s from Interscope and $ must be involved is all I can think of. Now that it’s so high on iTunes it seems there is no stopping it, sigh!

      (Question: How is “Like a G6, like a G6…” considered a good hook and catchy; I do not get it.)

      Hopefully, IIHY will get #15 for more than a day later in the week. Cooler Than Me and Misery are dropping pretty rapidly — and here’s hoping they fall even more rapidly this week. 🙂

      EDIT: It sounds like a ton of club songs to me; nothing special and far from amazing. Clearly, people are buying it but that doesn’t mean it’s good — it means radio brainwashing has occurred again (ha). I believe the song was played a ton in large cities which would explain why it’s always done well on iTunes. I maintain if radio and particularly radio in large cities played better music — music with actual good vocals — then the masses would buy it to.

      JC – you are literally the only person online or in real life I know who likes the song, which is great for you since it’s sure played enough. 😉 It must register with a young demographic and that’s it.

      • jchang365 says:

        I know tons of people who like this song, and it gets played at parties. It probably is registering with a younger demographic, and if that’s the demographic that Top 40 targets, then why not play it? It’s not like I love every song that comes on the radio, and this is a song that’s actually on the top of my list. Just because you and the people you know don’t like this song doesn’t mean it’s trash either. It obviously does something right to rack up that many sales.

      • angelaforaml says:

        No, Indy, i don’t think JC is the only one, I love this song and loved it from the first listen when I heard it on z100 a couple of weeks ago. Also, bizarre, but ppl at work were listening to it just this morning, one of the girls was telling other ppl about it and everybody ended up liking it…But I def agree it is a club song and it is prob the younger ppl who is buying it.

    • mariettejb says:

      I’ve only heared this G6 song once. It’s not my type of music, but I don’t think it is horrible. It’s seems radio is playing this in reaction to sales. I have no problem with that. A song doesn’t go to #2 on iTunes if it is not connecting.

      What I find annoying is songs that get high despite not connecting with the audience (payola…) or songs that radio jumps all over (Katy Perry songs) creating a bandwagon effect despite the song not being all that. I refuse to believe that Teenage Dream by any other artist would have cracked the top 5.

  2. jchang365 says:

    Ahhhh, please keep dropping CTM and Misery. And please keep getting positive updates, IIHY!

  3. fuzzywuzzy1 says:

    Nice AI increase on HAC. 🙂 The yo-yoing of AI on Top 40 is confusing. Does this normally happen when a song is peaking?

  4. samantha says:

    I’m older than dirt, and I liked “Like a G6” from the first time I heard it — when JTF posted the YouTube on September 1st. Of course, I wish it had been released a little later so that it wouldn’t be messing with IIHY’s progress.

    And I just looked back, jchang. You said you loved it from the first beat!

    ETA: This is what JTF said about G6:
    “I think this song could be a big hit (which means it most likely won’t because I suck at predicting these things).”

    Guess you don’t suck that bad, JTF. LOL

    Speaking of JTF, where is she?

    • jchang365 says:

      Haha, yeah. Although, I don’t think anyone had predicted that IIHY would still be climbing by the end of September. Should have known…

  5. jtfacts says:

    Tee hee, I’m here and ready to crow a bit about being right about Like A G6 (I freely admit to being wrong about Magic, which I thought would do better than it did…it still is doing pretty well on iTunes even if dropping on CHR). I loved Like A G6 from the first time I heard it and I know others who love it too. I think the sales reflect that people like the song (ditto for TD and CG)–not that it’s simply a product of payola like ATY or KU. Could still hit a wall on CHR, though, since I’m not sure the HAC leaning stations will ever embrace it.

    Personally, I loathe that Bruno Mars song, but while I think it got a fast start thanks to payola, I think the sales reflect that I’m in the minority and lots of people really love it.

    • jchang365 says:

      Haha, you are me! I’ve loved “Like a G6” ever since you posted it. I think my words were something like how I loved it from the first BEAT, lol. I don’t understand why Magic didn’t get higher either. Not that I don’t like the fact that IIHY has passed it now, but I thought the song was hilarious and there were positive reactions from the people I talked about that song with. And yeah, it has definitely been selling.

      I also don’t understand the Bruno Mars song going all the way to #1. I mean, it’s okay, but I didn’t think it was THAT good. I thought it sounded kind of dated actually at first. I kind of think that it’s just girls going, “Omg, so sweet!” to the song’s lyrics that they’re buying the song like candy. This is a song for me that I started to like only because it gets played so much and I don’t really object to it (that so-called herd mentality). But again, if the sales are so strong that if it’s the top-selling song, outpacing its position/AI on radio, it does deserve to be played a lot, IMO.

      • planetangst ( Studio57) says:

        That is exactly why that song is at #1. My girls ( 19 and 13) love Bruno and thinks he is the sweetest thing EVA ( mom does too). Every time I pick up my daughter’s friends to go somewhere I have 8 girls making me play it and singing that song. They love it so much they asked their chorus teacher if they could have a part in the spring chorus concert singing it together, lol.

  6. cali50 says:

    Thought since you have all been discussing G6 and I like to keep track of the Z100 “9 at 9” I’d show you tonight’s Top 9.

    LAST 10 PLAYED
    1. Far East Movement / Cataracs / Dev – Like A G6
    2. Katy Perry – Teenage Dream
    3. Bruno Mars – Just The Way You Are
    4. Selena Gomez & The Scene – Round & Round
    5. Nelly – Just A Dream
    6. Taylor Swift – Mine
    7. Justin Bieber – U Smile
    8. Usher Feat. Pitbull – Dj Got Us Fallin In Love
    9. Kesha – Take It Off

  7. saga says:

    Hi indy! I have to dissappoint you and admit I do like “like a G6” too…. it’s not Tik Tok or I Gotta Feeling but it’s a nice rythmic song. I like “Fuck You” a whole lot better though and I also really like Brunos song.

    ETA: Made you editor if you wanna make or change info in a post.

Leave a Reply

