Rock That Doesn’t Suck

So there’s lots of talk about how rock is dead or too Nickelbacky, but there is good rock out there and I decided to post some of my faves.  I’m going to skip the obvious bands like KoL, Muse and Green Day to focus on some more recent/less well known bands. 
 
So what totally awesome rock bands did I miss?
 
The Fratellis–Stacie Anne
 
 
 
Free Energy–Bang Pop
 
Black Rebel Motorcyle Club–The Show’s About to Begin
 
Southern-flavored rock like Black Keys–Chop and Change
  
Elbow–Grounds for Divorce
Metric–Stadium Love
 
Electro-rock like Kasabian’s Club Foot

 

8 Responses to Rock That Doesn’t Suck

  1. mariettejb says:

    I love good rock. There is still plenty of it, just not on top of the charts. The bands that do make it to top 40 are hardly among the best.

    Looking through the charts for the Rock formats there is a good share of mediocre music, but there is also plenty of mediocre pop music on the pop format.

    I will look up some of your choices when I get back home. The Fratellis had a monster hit here with Chelsea Dagger. Such a catchy song. I saw them perform it live at a festival once. Lots of fun.

    One band I would recommend is Editors. Crazy good music and their sounds translates to live really well.

    Would Brandon Flowers and Arcade Fire be considered rock, or more alternative? I liked quite a bit of the latest material of both.

    • jtfacts says:

      I’ve gotten into trouble for raving about the voice of the Editors’ lead singer, but I’ll just say it’s amazing, in a totally different way than Adam’s voice, and leave it at that.

      I thought about the Editors and Arcade Fire, but decided they were more alt than rock. I don’t like Arcade Fire’s current single very much, but I do love Rococco or however the heck you spell that. I’ve only heard Crossfire, which is very Killers, so I don’t know where Brandon Flowers would fit. I’d probably call the Killers pop rock, even though they’re usually lumped in with all rock music that isn’t North American rock and called alternative.

      I would have loved to see the Fratellis live!

  2. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    I ‘m not liking the Fratelli’s new song you posted but like I said I loved Loved loved Chelsea Dagger. Truth is I might just be stuck in a pop mode right now because I am not feeling any of those songs. The last rock groups I got into ( besides Muse, KOL, etc.) were Anberlin, AFI, and MCR. I liked a couple of Avenged Sevenfold’s songs off their first album too, and Bedlight For Blue Eyes. Nothing really in the last year though. I need to look up some more stuff. I am really excited for the new MCR album though, so there’s hope 🙂

  3. zizou says:

    Yeah there is plenty of good rock music out there. The bad thing is that it’s not that popular right now…but I hope this will change soon. And I do have a problem to decide which is rock or alt…

    I love The Editors and Tom Smith’s unique voice. I also like Kasabian.

    The Black Keýs’ Too Afraid to Love You is one of my favorite songs right now: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NnzIrRykilA&ob=av2e

    A few suggestions on the top of my head…

    First one of my favorite bands, Archive. They’re prog/alt/electronica rock
    Archive – Fuck You: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4gBzUwo6Iw
    Archive – Sleep: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uy5pQrsSxoQ&feature=related
    and sth more recent, Archive – Bullets: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q_k-9wztWc0

    Amy Macdonald – Don’t Tell Me That It’s Over, more “commersial” soft/folk rock

    RPA & United Nation Of Sound – Born Again (the new group of Richard Ashcroft,Verve’s singer):

    and one of the best songs and albums IMO last year
    The Last Shadow Puppets – The Age Of The Understatement: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XGV8xCkpXjE

    ETA….and no, I won’t post any Muse or Placebo songs even though I’m tempted….

  4. heartbeats1 says:

    Ooh, I definitely second Metric (I adore them) and the Black Keys.

    Some other bands/songs I’m loving right now (thought maybe these are more alt than rock?):

    Ra Ra Riot – Dying Is Fine

    Phoenix – Lasso

    The Temper Trap – Down River

    Metric – Blindness

    Handsome Furs – All We Want Baby Is Everything

    Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Hysteric

  5. samantha says:

    Thanks, JTF. I loved listening to these bands which were all unknown to me. Yep — hadn’t ever heard of any of them.

    I don’t think that I would download any of them (maybe Black Keys), but I wouldn’t change the station if they were on the radio.

    To me, Muse and KOL are the type of bands that remind me of the rock music that I love (ya know — like Aerosmith). There’s something about this music that isn’t hard enough for me.

    Someone was commenting on another site that Adam’s new drummer had more of a rock sound than LP had. I thought, “No way!” But listening to the drummers for these bands kind of made me realize what they were talking about. Actually, I think I’m just confused.

    The only thing I’m sure about is that Daughtry and Nickelback are alt rock, right? LMAO

  6. jtfacts says:

    ziz–You Tube is giving me fits right now, but I like what I could hear of The Last of the Shadow Puppets. I like some of Arctic Monkeys’ stuff so I guess that makes sense!

    And no, no, no samantha–last I heard Daughtry is still alt rock, but Nickelback has gone country.

    • samantha says:

      How could I make such a mistake? Of course, as long as Daughtry continues to rule in the alt rock category, all is right with the world.

Leave a Reply

