Daily Numbers 9/22/2010

SALES

Adam Lambert, For Your Entertainment (4,000, +1%, 731,000) (#118 BB200)

Adam Lambert, If I Had You (35,000, -6%, 448,000 total)
Adam Lambert, Whataya Want From Me (9,000, -8%, 1.532 million)

ITUNES

#43 iTunes US

RADIO

PC spins at 12:05 AM and 3:08 AM

POP
18 16 ADAM LAMBERT If I Had You 4744 4600 144 23.501
+10 Spins
-65 Bullet
+0.183 AI

HAC
20 18 ADAM LAMBERT If I Had You 1566 1309 257 8.211
+34 Spins
-10 Bullet
+0.135 AI

Canada POP
11 10 ADAM LAMBERT If I Had You 601 566 35 3.931

Canada HAC
5 5 ADAM LAMBERT If I Had You 610 628 -18 4.597

Updates in context:

Top40

HAC

Distances to competitors

POP
476 spins ahead of Rihanna (-252)
205 spins away from OR (-35)
406 spins away from Magic (+29)
531 spins away from Airplanes (+126)
1433 spins away from Posner (+139)

HAC
218 spins ahead of Taio (-20)
276 spins away from Iglesias (-3)
391 spins away from Lady A (-13)
609 spins away from Lifehouse (+11)
803 spins away from GGD (+37)

No starters  in POP

Starters HAC

31 Responses to Daily Numbers 9/22/2010

  1. mariettejb says:

    So now iTunes on Tuesday/Wednesday is affected by new single releases and new Glee episodes?

    I think IIHY had one less Cumulus syndicated spin, so that would account for about 12 spins.

    I hope the song can hang on for a bit. It hasnt had a negative update yet. Airplanes was -115 today so IIHY might still pass it this week.

    There is also a scenario that it can go recurrent while IIHY doesnt pass it. That happens if it drops below Magic while Secrets and Rihanna pass it. Then IIHY will also reach a new peak of #16.

    The week after I’m not going to predict. It all depends on if IIHY can keep its bullet.

  2. saga says:

    Yup, I agree mar. This is gonna be one nail biting week. The new stations RCA tweeted about give me some hope though.

  3. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    Not all those stations added- are they mid week adders or something?

    • mariettejb says:

      WAKS auto added in August, because of syndicated spins (at40, PC). So I guess this means they will start playing from their own playlist too.

      WAPE is an auto adder and will report Monday if they have 7 spins or more.

      The other two added yesterday.

  4. saga says:

    We got 2 PC spins as well, both between midnight and 5 am where they count the most… that might be good for tomorrow…

  5. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    Nice little album increase!

  6. fuzzywuzzy1 says:

    I’ve started watching Glee a bit and although it’s an entertaining show, I’m surprised by the popularity/sales of the recorded music from the show. One of the new Glee songs “Listen” (by Charice, #8 on iTunes) was actually played on Z100. I think that she covers this song well, but is this normal? That a major top 40 station like Z100 would play a song from the show or is it because they are using the show to promote Charice as a Top 40 artist?

  7. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    I know Sirius LOOOOOVES to play Don’t Stop Believing by the Glee cast. It pisses me off. Don’t get me wrong, I really love the show ( although I missed the premiere last night and didn’t even think to tape it so I am probably already tiring of it)- but I actually downloaded a few songs when I watched a marathon of the show for the first time- I just don’t get how people think those songs transfer well to ipod and would actually listen to them over the originals. i mean, I am really perplexed by it!

    • fuzzywuzzy1 says:

      Oh, so it’s not surprising that Z100 (and other top 40 stations) play Glee songs? That’s interesting. I agree about a lot of the songs not standing up well as just acoustic renditions. For me, the songs need to be in the context of the show with the visuals in order to have maximum impact and appeal. I was also surprised at the song “Listen” being played on Z100, as it’s a show tune. Did Beyonce’s version of this song chart on Top 40 (I couldn’t find anything in a search of Billboard)?

      ETA: From Pulse, I think that Beyonce’s “Listen” got as high as #61 on the BB Hot 100.

      • planetangst ( Studio57) says:

        If any of them chart on radio it’s in the 100’s or 200’s so not a lot of stations do it, thankfully. I am not sure about the Beyonce song. I haven’t seen the show yet this week.

    • jchang365 says:

      Those are my exact feelings on Glee, lol. I love the show, but they absolutely butcher some of the originals. Those kids aren’t THAT good.

  8. jtfacts says:

    I’m one of those weirdos who has bought Glee songs. Sometimes I like the show choir versions of pop songs. Like Somebody to Love or the marching band style take on 4 Minutes. I’ve never bothered to buy any of the solo/duet songs since the guys aren’t very good singers and while Lea Michele is an excellent Broadway style singer, I don’t really like my pop Broadway style, and Amber Riley who is also very talented, tends to oversing.

    I don’t see Listen on Z100’s addboard so that could have been an isolated spin. I heard the Glee Don’t Stop Believing on the radio in London. Sometimes tv songs make it big on radio–look at the Friends theme song!

    • fuzzywuzzy1 says:

      I only know that it got a spin on Z100 because of a youtube rip where the station call name was inserted into the airing. I like “Listen”. I’m a big show tunes fan and this song was one of those throwback kind of diva songs. 🙂

  9. cali50 says:

    I will go on record as saying, “I hate GLEE!”

  10. hoppersskippersminers says:

    Update is really meh for pop. I know he was defending big updates last week, but aren’t we over that by now??

    • mariettejb says:

      Yeah. I think general consensus is now that IIHY is in its last weeks. At least I think the signs point to that, maybe the adds can extend this period a bit.

      I’m happy it hasn’t gone negative yet and I’m happy with how it has done so far on pop.

      • lob says:

        Yep, I agree that IIHY is very close to peak by now. Interesting to see how long it can hold on (but I want another single dammit!)

  11. hoppersskippersminers says:

    BTW – nice party on the concert thread at Adamtopia last night – vids up!

    Come by when you have the chance (samantha can even bring her evil twin….)

    http://adamtopia.proforums.org/viewtopic.php?t=155&start=0

  12. saga says:

    I am still holding on to a thin thread of hope that IIHY is not peaking just yet! 😛

    I don’t really buy the “too old” thing because to me Secrets is just as old, same number of weeks till it goes recurrent. Breakeven was old too and managed to crawl into top10. IIHY just took longer to reach top40 but that shouldn’t affect the chart run so much.

    • planetangst ( Studio57) says:

      I’d be so happy if you were right 🙂

    • lob says:

      I agree with the “too old” argument not holding water, but as I said two seconds ago above, I think IIHY is close to peak by now. Obviously, I haven’t been around too much lately so I don’t have anything real to base that feeling on, but I have kinda had the feeling that a little too much of IIHY’s growth for the past couple of weeks has been from syndicated shows (like the PC spins). And in order to remain healthy it needs significant growth in regular rotations as well, and I’m not sure that’s the case (again just based on my gut feeling formed from what little time I’ve been online).

  13. cali50 says:

    http://content.usatoday.com/communities/idolchatter/post/2010/09/idol-track-sales-adam-lambert-daughtry-carrie-underwood/1

    Not much news this week for American Idol-related track sales. According to Nielsen SoundScan, Adam Lambert’s If I Had You sold 35,000 downloads, while Daughtry’s September and Carrie Underwood’s Mama’s Song saw week-over-week increases.

    Adam Lambert, If I Had You (35,000, -6%, 448,000 total)
    Daughtry, September (18,000, +3%, 180,000)
    Carrie Underwood, Undo It (13,000, -28%, 826,000)
    Adam Lambert, Whataya Want From Me (9,000, -8%, 1.532 million)

  14. saga says:

    Actually lob, we’ve been getting a pretty low PC rotation the last 2 weeks before this one. I think the really strong updates recently was more due to cumulus increase which is now fully in the system. PC rotation seems to be a bit better this week but it’s not a big increase (if there is an increase). I think some stations just lowered their rotations and not enough others have increased theirs.

    • lob says:

      Ok, thanks – so not enough stations are increasing rotation to give good updates. So yes, I think we are looking at a peak not too far off (unless something happens of course, RCA could suddenly decide to throw some money out there – would prefer them to throw that money after another single though so we can have something to track ;)).

  15. samantha says:

    I think those 4,000 FYE albums were all sold at the Walmart near Tropicana Field. I heard that they ran out and are waiting for a new shipment for all the disappointed people who didn’t get one. Could be just a rumor, of course.

  16. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    Samantha- I was wondering if he could have gotten a boost from that concert. Think about it- 30,000 baseball fans that stayed through extra innings AND an opening act to see him in concert= new fans. I didn’t know they sold his Cd there?

  17. samantha says:

    Studio — I was only joking. Actually, I was making reference to the post that I made a few days ago regarding my unrealistic expectations from the new people who were at the Tropicana Field concert.

    In short, I expected a major stampede to buy FYE. So I was making fun of myself. My sense of humor is usually apparent only to myself. LOL

  18. cali50 says:

    I am on another GLEE rant. They currently have 5 of the top 10 i-Tunes singles! #1, 2, 4, 7, and 9! WTF, people?!

Leave a Reply

