My Chemical Romance: Art Is The Weapon

MCR has a  new album coming out soon called Danger Days: The True Lives Of The Fabulous Killjoys and they have a trailer for the lead song Na Na Na. The following trailer is titled Art Is The Weapon

http://buzzworthy.mtv.com/2010/09/20/my-chemical-romance-art-is-the-weapon/

I have a little bit of knowledge on what people term “emo” and “screamo” bands, and I do not feel as though MCR fits in those genres. Welcome To The Black Parade was a well crafted album and the title song to me, at least, was this decade’s answer to Bohemian Rhapsody.

You might be asking why I would put a post up about MCR. well, when I heard the same producer for FYE ( Rob Cavallo) was the producer for WTTBP, I was almost certain this would be the direction Adam would go in, and I was pumped. Unfortunately I feel Cavallo failed him and did not bring out the rock side that Adam does in concert and instead overproduced the album. Be sure and check out the MTV link- they call MCR Glam Rock Goth Punk now, lol.

10 Responses to My Chemical Romance: Art Is The Weapon

  1. zizou says:

    I loved loved The Black Parade, one of my favorite albums of the past 5 years. And yes I agree this type of rock would fit Adam very well. I also expected more from Cavallo’s work (but then again Cavallo produced Cook’s album…and that was bland to say the least). I think Cavallo works better with groups and especially groups that have a very strong and clear concept in their mind. TBP is a very cohesive album IMO that tells a story and I think they worked for a lot of time to produce it. Cavallo had very little time to work with Adam and I don’t think he “got” him…
    Anyway, even though I quite like SFW and of course I love Soaked, I think all of the Cavallo songs could have been produced better.

    And I’m excited for the new MCR album! Can’t wait (another reason that I love MCR is their theatricality and their awesome costumes )

    • planetangst ( Studio57) says:

      I also agree TBP was one of the best albums in the last 5 years- I would even say the last 10.

      Gerard Way reminds me so much of Adam it is ridiculous! I love, love, love MCR. My kids started listening to them waaaaaaay back from their debut album and then I jumped on board during Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge. The lyrics, theatricality, and just hard rock of it all is made of win. Cannot wait to hear this album.

      I know Adam is saying he wants to go in the pop direction again but man if he could just be the pop/glam/goth brother to MCR’s glamgothpunk, I would just be the happiest camper.

      Do you by any chance like AFI? Davey Havok is another one that reminds me of Adam. And I have to say live he is almost as riveting.

      • planetangst ( Studio57) says:

      • zizou says:

        Yeah I know AFI..I don’t like their music that much but I agree that Havok is a great performer. And yes Gerard Way reminds me of Adam too lol.
        Oh Studio you don’t know how many times I’ve imagined Adam singing Teenagers and I Don’t Love You. I know it’s probably the worst time for rock music (unless you’re Daughtry/Nickelback and produce that type of crap “rock”) but I would also love some glam/gothrock songs from Adam in the future…maybe a cool collab or sth like that along with his pop album? (and I love pop music too)A girl can dream….

  2. jchang365 says:

    I don’t think Adam and Gerard Way are similar at all, but I’m not an MCR fan and don’t know that much about the latter. I kind of pegged MCR as a band that emo middle school girls like (but I think it’s because I was in middle school when they first broke out – tbh, I wouldn’t be surprised if people labeled Adam in the same way), but the trailer for their new album looks pretty interesting. I’m curious to hear a new single from them now. Thanks for posting.

  3. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    ziz- I know what you mean about rock music- it IS dead, but bands like Muse and MCR give me hope.

    Jchang- it is very easy to peg MCR as just another emo band, but really you should download the whole TBP album and really listen to it- I think it is a classic. If you liked American Idiot by Green day ( the album) you would love this.

  4. jtfacts says:

    I’d characterize MCR as emo, at least in terms of what emo has come to mean, along with bands like Fallout Boy and Panic at the Disco, but I don’t think there’s anything horrible about those bands (okay, Panic at the Disco is kind of lame). Thanks to TBP and American Idiot (which I’d personally rank as one of the best rock albums in the past 5 years or so) I was excited about Cavallo producing Cook’s album, but that turned out to be a waste. At least I was prepared for the mehness of Cavallo on FYE–although his over-produced, gloppy style was worse for Cook than for Adam.

    I’ve been thinking about putting together a Rock That Doesn’t Suck post, since there’s so much talk about how much rock sucks thanks to the Nickleback sound. I don’t think that’s really the case, although you might have to get a little more into alt rock. I mean, there’s Muse, Green Day, Foo Fighters, MCR, the whole Southern flavored rock sound of KoL, Black Keys and Cage the Elephant, hard rock like Seether, throwback 80s style rock like Buckcherry, electro rock like Kasabian, the Presets and Pendulum, bands like Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, 30 Seconds to Mars, Franz Ferdinand, the Fratellis (I guess they broke up), Blue October, chick led rock bands that aren’t Paramore like Metric and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Honestly, I like the variety more now than a decade or so ago when it seemed like wall to wall grunge, post-grunge and whatever you want to call crap like Soul Asylum and Collective Soul.

    • planetangst ( Studio57) says:

      i think what people (I ) mean by Rock is dead is mainstream rock, but i would love a rock post! I think most of those bands are considered alt rock and are played on college radio. i have been sorely lacking in my alt rock love for the last year because of Adam, but rock will always be my first love.

      I just heard The Black Keys the other day for the first time, and I was JUST getting into the Fratelli’s and they broke up? Damnit. Loved Chelsea Dagger- that song always got me in the best mood.

      • jtfacts says:

        Yeah, but I don’t think even mainstream rock is dead. First, while I’m not a fan of Nickelback, I have bopped my head to some of their stuff–the stuff played on rock radio, not HAC! And obviously a lot of people do like Nickelback judging by their album sales. I wasn’t that big a fan of grunge, so I guess I just can’t get too hung up on how awful Nickelback is. And let’s face it–there was lots of crappy rock in the 80s too. While I may have enjoyed the music of Warrant, Poison and Motley Crue more than Nickelback and Hinder, I can’t argue with a straight face that they are “superior” musically.

        Second, what’s more mainstream rock than bands like KoL, Green Day and Foo Fighters? I don’t thnk they are less mainstream just because Top 40 isn’t playing them right now.

  5. samantha says:

    Go for it, JTF. I would really enjoy that, and I’m sure others would too.

Leave a Reply

