Hit or Miss?

La Roux’s new single, “In For The Kill”. I like it (ok like it quite a lot) but I am not sure how US will respond to the electro beats in this one. Bulletproofs beat was more soft and sophisticated. Whatya think? I am thinking I might have to buy the album.

13 Responses to Hit or Miss?

  1. jchang365 says:

    The beat was promising, but then she started singing. :-/

    Her regular voice in Bulletproof was cool, but the constant falsetto starts to sound shrill here. The melody’s kind of monotone too. I know it had success in Europe, but I’d be surprised if it was a US hit. I don’t see it becoming as big as Bulletproof.

  2. jtfacts says:

    I loved BP, but I don’t like this at all. I think it’s way too European to do well in the U.S.

    Anyone else think she looks kinda like Johnny Weir? I noticed that more than anything else in the video.

  3. saga says:

    She does look like Jonny Weir! And yes, I also think the beat is too European (that is, not rythmic enough) for US radio. But I still like it.

  4. zizou says:

    Well I already have the album and this song was a big hit here last summer (before BP). I agree about her voice in the song but I personally love it. Tigerlily and Quicksand are other favorites of mine. Dunno about US radio I think it may do well if z100 adds it soon and supports it.

    ETA. the mv is autrocious though..
    ETA2. now that I thought this better, I think Tigerlily would have been a better choice for the US radio…

  5. saga says:

    Off to buy the album…

  6. fuzzywuzzy1 says:

    I liked BP, but I’m not too keen on this song. It’s interesting that there was such a lag between release of this song in Europe vs. the U.S (over a year later?). Does this happen generally with non-U.S. artists and does it work the other way too?

    • jchang365 says:

      I don’t know if that’s a general trend, but I know that The Script’s last single, “The Man Who Can’t Be Moved” is super old. I think I first found the music video for it two or three years ago.

  7. jchang365 says:

    LOL about the Johnny Weir similarity. I heard she’s filming a new music video for this, so maybe it will be a little more…active.

  8. fuzzywuzzy1 says:

    Fuzz- I moved your post to the new thread on the subject.

  9. saga says:

    Robyn album that became a semi hit in the US was 2-3 years old too. In Europe new US artists are picked up a lot quicker. Just listened to the album and I think they made the best choice they could by picking this as a 2nd single even though Tigerlily is a good song. I think it’s a bit too “bare” soundwise for US.

  10. samantha says:

    I like this remix:

  11. lindag23 says:

    I don’t think it is the beat that is a problem but the constant high pitch of her voice. I just could not listen to the whole song, it was almost painful.

Leave a Reply

