All Top 20 Hits Are Not Equal

Here’s something that I’m wondering about.  I was looking at the AI numbers for the songs that were near Adam on the HAC chart.

I was trying to see what might be sneaking up on Adam.  I noticed the numbers for TT and started thinking about cali50’s post a few days ago (re the discussion at MJ’s blog).

It seems to me that Kris entered the Top 20 with an exceptionally low AI (even by HAC standards).  So — I’m drawing the conclusion that a song can get enough spins on a station in time slots that are less than desirable — just so the station can fulfill an obligation to spin (free bagel twists, anyone?) and thus the AI remains low.

I already believed that reaching  Top 20 on HAC does not define a hit (althought the jp poster says otherwise).  This convinces me that (taken alone, without considering other factors — especially sales) a Top 20 HAC position means almost nothing.

I will award a prize to anyone who can figure out what I’m saying here.

12 Responses to All Top 20 Hits Are Not Equal

  1. saga says:

    Sometimes your thoughts just fly away Samantha… Earth calling Samantha!

  2. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    No- I know what you’re saying samantha and I have that argument over at MJ’s all the time. I totally agree with it, but there are always exceptions like whether the song is charting on HAC alone, and how high in the top 20 it is. But even as it stands right now, If It’s Love was the #1 song on HAC ( i think- it was last time I checked) and I don’t think it sold as well as IIHY.

    • samantha says:

      Yep. Kris reached Top 20 on HAC with an AI of 4.630.

      As he rose the chart from 19 to 18 to 17 — his AI continued to drop. When he entered the Top 17 spot, his AI was 3.981.

      Why am I using numbers for TT, you say?

      Well, the Kritters are the only stans who obsess over the numbers the way we do and have info that I can access (there are plenty of other obsessed stans, I’m sure– I just don’t know where to find their numbers).

      Oh — and for other reasons (which, as an adult, I should be embarrassed to admit). So I won’t. LOL

      Anyway, I owe you a prize. What should it be?

  3. fuzzywuzzy1 says:

    I think that, in general, AI is more important than just spins, which is why the Billboard Hot 100 uses AI and not spins for its chart rankings. OTOH, once a song has been played in a market for a while, regardless of AI, it seems that there’s a saturation of that market, so then a song getting spins in a different market (even with lower AI) is important towards more sales and popularity. I think that Idol fans, in particular, modify the criteria for a “hit” to accommodate the songs of their favorites.

    I’ve seen a lot of people use a top 40 ranking on the Billboard Hot 100 as the definition of a hit, but even that is prone to interpretation, with some Idol “coronation songs” charting very high on the BB Hot100 based on massive sales alone.

  4. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    yeah, coronation singles are exceptions to the rule though. Of course not so much in the last coulle of years.

  5. cali50 says:

    Samantha, I know exactly what you are saying. Considering my post inspired you, I shouldn’t be surprised (worried, maybe?) I’ve always said this. In my mind, sales is what makes a song a hit. If a song makes #17 on a mediabase chart, what does that mean exactly? It means the PD of stations liked the song enough or got enough legal payola to give the song a ton of spins. If the song didn’t sell, how can that be a hit? The whole purpose of radio spins is for sales. If it doesn’t sell, then, IMO, it’s not a hit. I’ve seen numbers’ people use Kings of Leon, a lot, when talking about hits. Is it because they sold a lot, but didn’t chart on radio? Or did they get both radio play and sales? Just wondering.
    I, use Kris’ numbers a lot, just because I know them. Sometimes I am making a direct comparision (like 4 weeks ’til WWFM passes LLWD), but often it’s just because I know his numbers so well.

    • jchang365 says:

      Kings of Leon actually received gigantic airplay for “Use Somebody” (#1 on POP, HAC, AAA, Alternative) to go along with their 2.5 million sales. That song was inescapable for months.

    • samantha says:

      That’s it exactly. And, yes, you should be very worried. LOL

  6. mariettejb says:

    At the end of the day, the label needs to make money. So unless releasing a single to radio sells the song or an album (or a tour), charting high is meaningless.

    #17 with a very poor AI should give a hint that radio isn’t loving a song enough for its chart position to be justified.

    I do notice on CHR that some songs in the #30-#60 range have an overinflated AI compared to their positions. That is the influence of a few big stations. In the end I think a song needs both a good number of markets and spins that are actually heared by people checking out radio.

    • fuzzywuzzy1 says:

      “At the end of the day, the label needs to make money. So unless releasing a single to radio sells the song or an album (or a tour), charting high is meaningless”

      I agree. This is the bottom line. Radioplay is basically advertising for selling a song/CD/concert/artist.

  7. samantha says:

    Who was in charge of the Quote Button around here? Was it the zicobunny?

    Am I only one who wants one?

    I found the app download, but I don’t know what to do with it.

    And I know what you’re all thinking. Only constructive ideas about what I can do with it, please. Heh.

Leave a Reply

