(Least) favourite current top 40 songs

We talk quite a bit about the music we like. I’m curious what your favourite and least favourite songs in the top 40 are right now.

I’ll start. I’m excluding IIHY because I can’t be objective about that song. Some song I don’t know well enough to give an opinion about.

Favourites:

  1. Cee-Lo Green – Fuck You
  2. Eminem/Rihanna – Love the Way You Lie
  3. Flo Rida – Club Can’t Handle Me
  4. Rihanna – Only Girl
  5. Eminem – Not Afraid
  6. Mike Posner – Cooler than me
  7. OneRepublic – Secrets
  8. Kesha – Take it Off
  9. BOB – Airplanes
  10. Nelly – Just a Dream

Least favourite:

  1. Enrique Iglesias – I like it
  2. Maroon 5 – Misery
  3. Taylor Swift – Mine
  4. Usher – DJ Got Us Fallin In Love
  5. Jason Derulo – Ridin’ Solo
  6. Katy Perry – California Gurls
  7. John Mayer – Half of My Heart
  8. Katy Perry – Teenage Dream
  9. Auburn – La La La
  10. BOB – Magic
15 Responses to (Least) favourite current top 40 songs

  1. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    This is so hard for me because I am sick of alot of the songs in top 40 already, but my favorites at any given time:

    1. IIHY
    2. Love The Way You Lie
    3. Just The Way You Are
    4. Fuck You ( but not Forget You, so don’t know if that counts)
    5. Cooler Than Me
    6. Animals ( Neon Trees)
    7. Secrets

    Least Favorites:

    1. Mine ( no explanation needed)
    2. Misery ( this song put me in it)
    3. Dynamite ( Who the hell besides Jimmy Walker says Dynamite?)
    4. Riding Solo ( I hate how bratty he sounds when he says” riding solo”
    5. Love Like Whoa ( No. I don’t have a love like whoa, do you?)
    6. Kissin U ( Your senses come alive Miranda? Really? Do you even know what that means?)

  2. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    Ooh- and I have to add three songs that are not in top 40 that I love right now:

    Bow Chicka Wow- Mike Posner
    Bang Bang- K’naan and Adam Levine
    Spacebound- Eminem-

    I love lists!

    • mariettejb says:

      Spacebound is my favourite album track of the Eminem cd!

      I somehow looked over Kissing U. I actually like that one less than Magic. My new #10 least favourite.

      • planetangst ( Studio57) says:

        Who is singing the chorus on Spacebound? Is it Em? Because I cannot find who it features.

        It’s like a modern day Rocketman.

        Do you like Won’t Back Down with Pink? I am really, really shocked at how much I am loving this new album of his. I loved him at first but then he got too damn nasty. It’s like he has really matured with this album.

  3. jtfacts says:

    Fun! If I pick faves based on what I have downloaded that’s on Top 40, then my faves are:

    Dynamite
    TIO (sorta–I bought it in January and I’m sick of it now that it’s on the radio)
    Magic
    Animal
    Like A G6
    Fuck You (don’t like the radio edits however).

    I also really like DJ Got Us Fallin Love and Round and Round, even though I haven’t bought them. Yet.

    The songs I dislike most are:

    Just The Way You Are
    Ridin’ Solo
    Mine
    Half Of My Heart
    That Script song
    U Smile
    Only Exception

  4. angelaforaml says:

    ok, mar, what r u doing in my brain, girl? get out now…j/k, i would not change a thing on those lists, exept maybe i would move ridin” solo to the number one, most hated song of all times spot.
    🙂

  5. saga says:

    Of the ones I have heard on top40 (I don’t listen to everything, you know)

    Favourites:

    1. Cee-Lo Green – Fuck You
    2. Eminem/Rihanna – Love the Way You Lie
    3. Usher – Hot Tottie
    4. Bruno Mars – Just The Way You Are
    5. Robyn – Dancing On My Own
    6. Far East Movement – Like A G6
    7. David Guetta f/Kid Cudi – Memories
    8. Flo Rida – Club Can’t Handle Me
    9. Taio – Dynamite
    10. Kesha – Take it Off
    11. Linkin Park – Waiting For The End

    And IIHY I guess? LOL

    Least favourite:

    1. Jason Derulo – Ridin’ Solo
    2. Enrique Iglesias – I like it
    3. Usher – DJ Got Us Fallin In Love
    4. Nelly – Just A Dream
    5. Train – If It’s Love
    6. M5 – Misery
    7. Taylor Swift – Mine
    8. BOB – Magic
    9. Katy Perry – Teenage Dream
    10. Mike Posner – Cooler Than Me

    I don’t listen much to the more HAC leaning stuff on top40 (like Paramore, Neon Trees, The Script and 1R) or the Disney stuff but they don’t irritate me as much as bad dance music.

  6. jchang365 says:

    I’m not considering how tired I am of certain songs, because I figure that I would love these songs with more intensity than other songs once I come back to them later.

    Favorites:

    1. Nelly – Just a Dream
    2. B.o.B. – Magic
    3. Far East Movement – Like a G6
    4. Neon Trees – Animal
    5. B.o.B. – Airplanes
    6. Mike Posner – Cooler Than Me
    7. Katy Perry – California Gurls

    Least favorites:

    1. Justin Bieber – U Smile
    2. Selena Gomez – Round and Round
    3. Drake – Find Your Love
    4. Taylor Swift – Mine
    5., 6. Not really a big fan of both Eminem songs
    7. Jay Sean – 2012

  7. zizou says:

    YAY! Lists!
    Most favorite songs at the moment (ecxept IIHY of course)

    Eminem/Rihanna – Love the Way You Lie
    Cee-Lo Green – Fuck You
    David Guetta f/Kid Cudi – Memories
    Eminem – Not Afraid
    OneRepublic – Secrets
    Taio Cruz – Dynamite
    BOB – Airplanes
    Flo Rida – Club Can’t Handle Me
    Selena Gomez & The Scene – Round & Round

    Least favorite

    Jason Derulo – Ridin’ Solo (by far…)
    Maroon 5 – Misery
    Taylor Swift – Mine
    The Script – Man Who Can’t Be Moved
    Katy Perry – Teenage Dream
    Auburn – La La La
    Enrique Iglesias – I like it
    Daughtry – September

    I’ve never thought that Eminem will have 2 of my favorites songs in top40….but his album is brilliant…Favorite songs No Love, Cinderella man, Space Bound and You’re Never Over

  8. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    I hope they release Space Bound

  9. samantha says:

    What a great idea!

    Favorites:
    1. Kesha – Tik Tok (still my Number One)
    2. Cee-Lo Green – Fuck You
    3. Eminem/Rihanna – Love the Way You Lie
    4. Eminem – Not Afraid
    5. La Roux – Bulletproof (not even close to being tired of it)
    6. Mike Posner – Cooler than me
    7. Taio Cruz – Dynamite
    8. Katy Perry – California Gurls
    9. BOB – Airplanes
    10. Flo Rida – Club Can’t Handle Me

    Least favorites:
    1. Jason Derulo – Ridin’ Solo
    2. Enrique Iglesias – I like it
    3. Taylor Swift – Mine
    4. Katy Perry – Teenage Dream
    5. Auburn – La La La
    6. The Script – Man Who Can’t Be Moved
    7. Nelly – Just A Dream
    8. Drake – Find Your Love
    9. Paramore – Only Exception (ironically, this song gets stuck in my head more than any other song)
    10. Kesha – Take it Off (actually, it’s just my least favorite Kesha song — but it disappoints me)

  10. zizou says:

    More..
    Favorite recent hits

    Bulletproof – La Roux
    Bad Romance – Lady Gaga (my favorite Gaga single)
    Sexy Bitch – David Guetta

    Most hated songs of the past months

    Imma Be – B.E.P.
    O.M.G. – Usher
    Breakeven – The $cript

    ….and I wanna add a seperate category lol

    Favorite flops

    Beautiful Monster – Ne-yo
    Can’t Be Tamed – Miley Cyrus (yeah, yeah I know…Miley)
    Russian Roulette – Rihanna (is this considered to be a flop?)

    • samantha says:

      I wanted to put Bad Romance (also my favorite Gaga single) on my favorites list, but figured that I bent the rules enough with Tik Tok. LOL

      O.M.G. would come right after Ridin’ Solo on my all-time least favorites.

      I actually kind of like Breakeven — like the lyrics — but not enough to put it on my iPod.

      We owe Miley Cyrus for our IIHY mantra: WE CAN’T BE TAMED!!!

  11. saga says:

    OHHHHHH… recent good hits? I liked Alejandro actually (mor than Bad Romance, hah!).

    Favs:

    Telephone
    Alejandro
    Sexy Chick
    I Gotta Feeling
    Tik Tok
    Whatya Want From Me
    Billionaire
    Russian Roulette
    Run This Town
    Use Somebody
    Sex on Fire
    Can’t Be Tamed
    Watcha Say
    Empire State of Mind
    Bulletproof
    3
    If We Ever Meet Again
    Dead and Gone

  12. jtfacts says:

    Ziz, I agree with all your recent faves (except I might love Poker Face a smidge more than Bad Romance) and 2/3 of your recent dislikes, except I’d swap out Imma Be for Bedrock.

    And saga, I love love love Empire State of Mind–none of the rapper/female singer collabs have matched that imo.

    I also loved Tik Tok, Circus, Evacuate the Dancefloor and Fireflies and disliked I Gotta Feeling, Boom Boom Pow , Hard and Use Somebody (originally I didn’t mind it but it got so played to death I can’t bear to hear a single note of it now).

Leave a Reply

