Daily Numbers 9/3/10

CONCERT STATS

8/26/2010
Adam Lambert, Allison Iraheta
Roanoke Performing Arts Theatre, Roanoke, VA
Outback Concerts
1,987 / 2,000 99%
$37.75 – $0
$71,574

8/19/2010
Adam Lambert, Orianthi, Allison Iraheta
Cape Cod Melody Tent, Hyannis, MA
(In-House Promotion) / Vincent Longo
2,250 / 2,250 100%
$28.50 – $45.50
$70,710

http://idolstages.com/locations/current-concert-boxscores-for-headliners/43237/comment-page-1#comment-229350

ITUNES

#35 on iTunes US

RADIO

PC spins at 11:06 PM and 2:42 AM

POP
21 20 ADAM LAMBERT If I Had You 3796 3442 354 19.726
+85 Spins
+67 Bullet
+0.288 AI

HAC
24 21 ADAM LAMBERT If I Had You 1053 847 206 5.049
+21 Spins
+1 Bullet
+0.148 AI

Canada POP
13 8 ADAM LAMBERT If I Had You 648 575 73 5.317

Canada HAC
4 5 ADAM LAMBERT If I Had You 584 609 -25 4.002

Updates in context:

Top40
http://www.mediabase.com/mmrweb/insideradio/charts.asp?format=1&showyear=y&dpt=n

HAC
http://www.mediabase.com/mmrweb/insideradio/charts.asp?format=3&showyear=y&dpt=n

Distances to competitors

POP
475 spins ahead of Nelly (-98)
214 spins ahead of Drake (+220)
408 spins away from Eminem (+154)
580 spins away from Paramore (+273)

HAC
164 spins ahead of Swift (-15)
31 spins ahead of Gaga (+35)
424 spins away from Allen (+47)
595 spins away from Lady A (-2)

Starters POP

Starters HAC


20 Responses to Daily Numbers 9/3/10

  1. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    I am starting to angst about the Itunes position now. BUDGE! For crying out loud!

  2. jchang365 says:

    Yeah, seriously, what’s with the iTunes position? How could it have been so much better with less AI?

  3. jtfacts says:

    Yeah, the iTunes position is a little disappointing. It seemed like the song was outperforming radioplay when its AI was under 10 million, but that doesn’t seem to have continued. Oh well, at least it isn’t KU or ATY.

  4. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    Maybe it’s because people are splitting between the deluxe, regular, and ep versions? Or does Mansfield count those? I can’t imagine he does when he doesn’t factor in Kris Allen’s sales because they are under 1,000. Also, people could be completing their albums on itunes- the sales of the album have been pretty steady when you think they would be going down. Or am I grasping at straws here?

    FYE did have a 5% increase in digital this past week.

  5. jtfacts says:

    I’m sure there’s some splitting, but the other versions aren’t in the top iTunes 1000 so those sales can’t be amounting to much.

    The album sales are steady, but I assume Ke$ha’s album sales are steady too and she’s still selling a lot of singles (btw, I’m not saying IIHY should be selling like TIO, just that there are other pop artists selling singles and albums).

    FYE was part of that back to school special sale on iTunes, I think, so that probably explains the digital increase.

  6. titimira says:

    Just a heads up – I still do not have internet at home (and will not for another few weeks) so with the weekend coming up I may not post distances to competitors, depending on how I choose to spend my weekend (who knows I might decide to go to work).

    So if someone else wants to do them, feel free (I would remove Drake from the POP distances and add someone else like OR, Katy (she is far off, but is dropping like a rock) or maybe McCoy if he doesn’t drop enough to go recurrent. From HAC I would remove Gaga and maybe add Lifehouse (still growing but with smaller bullet) or PINK (far away but dropping).

    I’ll definitely be back with the distances Monday, but maybe kinda latish since I may have a lot of work in the lab that day.

    • fuzzywuzzy1 says:

      Geez. You place more priority on your lab work than in posting distances to competitors for Adam’s songs? 😉 J/K!! I hope that all is well with you and that you are getting settled both at home and at work. 🙂

      • titimira says:

        Yeah I know, bad stan *slaps self on wrist*.
        I’m slowly getting settled but work will probably pick up quite a bit next week, which is good for me but not so good for my stanning and it makes it a real pain not to have internet at home :P.

  7. fuzzywuzzy1 says:

    Very good Mediabase updates! It appears that the iTunes rank/sales of IIHY may indicate that it’s not resonating as well with listeners than WWFM?

    • titimira says:

      It’s quite odd though, since it originally appeared that IIHY was resonating with listeners better than WWFM, when comparing AI and sales. I don’t know, I’m a bit puzzled myself, but I do think that the lack of TV opportunities has to play a role. After all, WWFM had a bunch of TV performances well spread out over its lifespan – IIHY has only had two and both were very early before radio play started picking up.

      • fuzzywuzzy1 says:

        I’m hoping that Adam can perform on the results show of “America’s Got Talent” to promote IIHY. The show is entering the semi-finals now, and even though that show is a joke in many ways, they have pretty good ratings. Adam’s schedule is pretty tight, but in the past, some performers have taped appearances for the results show (e.g. Susan Boyle), so it could happen.

        Ratings from Wednesday – 9:00-10:00 PM

        America’s Got Talent (NBC) Viewers: #1, 10.34 million; A18-49: #1, 2.5/ 7)

        Criminal Minds, repeat (CBS) Viewers: #2, 6.21 million; A18-49: #4, 1.7/ 5

        CMA Music Festival: Country’s Night to Rock (ABC) 9:00 p.m. – Viewers: 6.34 million (#2), A18-49: 1.8/ 6 (#4); 9:30 p.m. – Viewers: 6.02 million (#3), A18-49: 1.7/ 5 (#5)

        Masterchef (FOX) 9:00 p.m. – Viewers: 4.78 million (#4), A18-49: 2.0/ 6 (#2); 9:30 p.m. – Viewers: 5.12 million (#4), A18-49: 2.2/ 6 (#2)

        http://pifeedback.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/63310451/m/386100913

  8. cali50 says:

    IIHY hasn’t had one single TV appearance since it hit radio and became known. There was the Ellen rerun but even that was too early in summer.

  9. jtfacts says:

    The lack of tv performances haven’t helped, but I’m not aware of Bruno doing a lot of tv right now and his song is doing quite well on iTunes (of course he is getting more radioplay, including rhythmic play). Once again, IIHY isn’t doing terrible, like a KU or WTK song, but it doesn’t look like it’s going to be a BP either. That’s still waaaaaay better than I thought it would do back in late May when adds were kinda meh, so I can live with 700,000 or so in sales (which is where I think it currently looks like it will end up).

  10. jchang365 says:

    I would like it to just get to gold, which is going to happen obviously but I thought it would happen pretty soon rather than a bit later.

  11. angelaforaml says:

    nice update, back in the top 20, looking good for teens next week. as for the i-tunes, as long as it’s keeping steady and not dropping farther, i think it’s ok, as long as it keeps selling. 🙂

  12. saga says:

    Just some thoughts on how to predict when a song will peak/stall…

    I think it is REALLY hard to say in advance how far a song from a less established artist will go before peaking. Breakeven showed signs of peaking and then struggled on and went top10. Paramores new song showed signs of peaking and started plummeting directly. ATY went where noone thought it would go etc.

    I do think, however, that it is pretty easy to recognise peaking/stalling signs when they actually happen. Lowered rotation overall, fewer spinning stations, less power rotations, lowered PC spins, few adds if adds are still possible etc. Sometimes a stalling period can be overcome and sometimes it is not.

    If we take IIHY, right now it is showing no signs of peaking and I think it is really hard to predict how much longer radio life the song has. I don’t think it will go top5 but I also think it is really hard to say if it will peak at #17 or at #11. However, as soon as it starts stalling/peaking we will see the signs pretty fast.

    What do you think?

    I guess what I am trying to say is that with all the tools available to us, the stats from mediabase, AA, itunes and so forth, we can only see about 1 week ahead, maybe a little longer if a song is at a certain stage where it is just expected to move on.

  13. jtfacts says:

    No question that there’s still lots of room to grow on HAC. I don’t see IIHY getting as high as WWFM on HAC (or Top 5), because I don’t think it’s as HAC friendly a song. But the AI connection might make up for that. AI artists do tend to do very well on HAC with good material (even a weak song like TT made it to Top 20).

    As far as Top 40, as you said saga, it’s hard to predict. At the moment, I *think* it could be close to peaking on that format–like around 18. I’m basing that on the age of the song, the crush of dance songs by men on the charts right now, all the new songs that will be dropping soon for the fall albums (starting with Rihanna next week), the fairly low adds the past couple of weeks and the iTunes ranking. Depending on what the PC spins are next week and whether the rest of Cumulus adds, my current opinion could change. After all, I thought things looked bad based on adds back in May and I turned out to be wrong!

  14. saga says:

    I guess I am more positive… the age of the song is a worry but not many stations have had it on high rotation yet. They’ve spun it and had it around #10-15 on their playlist. Part of cumulus came onboard last week and there is still lots to get from them if the others keep adding. Cumulus Atlanta seem to be spinning outside of the syndicated shows for the first time today. The first power rotation from a big station also happened this week (philly). And the updates this week are really strong, suprisingly strong.

    Breakeven was old when it peaked and so was LLWD (both older than WWFM and both had that slow slow rise). I don’t think the age is really that hurting atm… WWFM had stations that put it on power rotation early and caused parts of the panel to be “exhausted” of the song when it needed that extra push. IIHY has been much more driven by smaller stations that kept it in medium rotation.

  15. planetangst ( Studio57) says:

    You guys are much better at this than me. The only criteria I have for a song peaking is when it consistantly loses spins and get’s to that negative spin increase for a few days in a row. IIHY is nowhere near that. Is it peaking on Itunes is the question. I love Kworb’s charts over at Pulse and the one thing I have noticed is that no one stays in the top20 on pop with a song less than 30 on itunes- unless you are Amanda Cosgrove or Orianthi. WTK MIGHT have made it to 20 by default of other songs dropping but I am pretty sure they weren’t there for more than a week.

    As far as HAC- I think it is very possible it will do as well and maybe even better than WWFM. It has always been in the top 10 for bullets. I think it’s stronger there than POP.

    I am just really hoping for an itunes surge- if more stations would put it in power ( over 80 spins) I am sure it would happen.

  16. zizou says:

    I can’t predict where IIHY may peak right now…It could be #18, #17 or even top15. But I agree with saga, when the song is about to peak and start dropping we will understand it cause, yes there are signs like saga said. A song needs more or less 1 week to 10 days to loose its bullet. Once that happens the song has peaked. So we’ll know probably one week in advance.
    As far as new songs..oh well during IIHY’s life on top40 new singles deputed, passed even dropped (remember Miley?) but IIHY keeps on climbing so I don’t see why this can’t continue to happen for another month or so… and I think it depends also whether RCA will keep pushing it.

Leave a Reply

