Pick U Up Appreciation Thread

The rumor that PUU is on HitPredictor (I haven’t seen it myself) led me to make my first post in our new blog about this beautiful and underrated song. I know that this HP thingy probably means nada but why not listen to THAT bridge one more time?

My favorite part? Adam’s laugh in the end…Priceless.

So what do you guys think, is Adam ever gonna sing PUU in concert? Could PUU work as a radio single? Is Greg Wells the best producer on FYE?

About zizou
Numbers and theater nerd. Sometimes I cook too..

14 Responses to Pick U Up Appreciation Thread

  1. planetangst says:

    I am not even lying when I say it is my favorite song on the album. That bridge reminds me of all the times I tried unsuccessfully in the car to sing the bridge to “More Than A Feeling” by Boston. It makes me feel good- and I LOOOOOOOVEEEEEEEEEEEE Rivers Cuomo, so that’s a plus.

  2. sagajo says:

    PUU is a huge favourite of mine!!! I do think it would work as a radio single if Adam was a bit more loved by radio… then he could pull it off. It is a song that needs a few listenings before it sticks and they have to be willing to give him that. As it is now, I don’t know? But it sure would be VERY refreshing with a song like this on the radio!!! I mean, it is not like BO, which is just not a radio single.

    And if Greg worked on PUU, DTRH and and CLYG, he is a hero in my book.

  3. sagajo says:

    Ah, f*ck it. I just listened to it again, I really want this on the radio!!!

  4. planetangst says:

    You know they could ride the wave of “Magic” with Travie and Rivers with this song, but since Adam never sings it I doubt it will ever see the light of day. Boo!

    Did you guys see that add for Amazing Race Asia with SFW as the background? If they edited the song to take out the leather and lace bit, that could be a new sports anthem. I swear. Even a reviewer of one of Adam’s concerts said the other day it sounds like it could be the Part 3 of We Will Rock You/ We Are The Champions.

    http://www.axn-asia.com/tara video on lower right

  5. jtfacts says:

    I love Weezer and the song was a bit of a WTF to me at first, because it didn’t have that distorted guiter, Weezer sound (although they seem to be getting a way from that bit recently). But the lyrics and the awesomely silly bridge are very Weezer-like to me and I really like the song.

    But for me, it’s a good example of an album song, rather than a radio song. I think the bridge makes it impossible for Top 40. The only way I can see something like this getting a lot of radioplay is like a I Believe In A Thing Called Love situation–a kind of lightning strikes moment. Even then, I think it’d have to be alternative radio and that format isn’t going to play anyone with an AI connection.

    ETA: Greg Wells is my fave of the FYE producers. He can really handle a range of styles–from DTRH to BO–and I hope he’s involved with the next album.

    • jchang365 says:

      I’ve loved Greg Wells before I knew who Adam Lambert was. He produced both of Mika’s albums and one of my favorite Hanson tracks, “Underneath.” Hanson has a drastically different style than Adam, but again, I think it just shows how good Wells’ versatility is.

  6. jchang365 says:

    One of my favorite songs on the album and it bums me out that he doesn’t sing it live, but I agree with jtfacts that this song does not belong on the radio. I’ve said this a lot before, but this song needs to get on Glee. It’s basically musical theater pop-rock.

    • planetangst says:

      ITA!!!!! I can see Lea Michelle and Adam singing to this!

      • jchang365 says:

        I’ve pretty much choreographed a routine involving the entire Glee cast and Adam in my head. Lea and Adam are featured prominently, of course. πŸ˜‰

      • planetangst says:

        Does it involve a dream sequence of Leah being in love with her substitue teacher ( Adam) and them running down the hall holding hands with the wind in their hair, and as they sing the bridge he picks her up and twirls her around?

        Just wondering

      • jchang365 says:

        LOL, OMG. That. Is. Perfect. WRITE TO THE GLEE WRITERS NOW.

        Haha, mine is way less awesome. It was more of the kids being bored at school but then singing the verses to each other to get them pumped up and gleeeeeful. I was definitely imagining them running through the halls with the whole school behind them. I don’t really know how Adam would be involved except that he sings the end with Lea, lol.

        But really, FOUR FOR YOU, PLANETANGST (who I think is studio?)

  7. planetangst says:

    Yeah it’s studio πŸ™‚

    The first time I heard that song I thought Glee. It would be so perfect. Now that Britney and Gaga did it maybe he will soften his stance about being on the show. It would be so epic.

  8. samantha33d says:

    I LOVE THAT SONG!!! It was one of my original Top 3. I play air drums after the bridge — every time.

  9. fuzzywuzzy1 says:

    It’s so great to see such enthusiastic appreciation for PUU! I’ve loved this song from the start, it’s fun and I’d love to see Adam tackle it live. πŸ™‚ I would love to see Adam on Glee too. Maybe, he was a little cool towards the idea at first because he auditioned for the show and wasn’t chosen? At any rate, I hope that they come up with a guest appearance for him on that show that suits him.

    YAY! My avatar is showing now! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

