Hit or Miss?

Posting this for angsty…

16 Responses to Hit or Miss?

  1. jchang365 says:

    Hmm, it’s okay. I didn’t know Posner could make smoother songs like this. The guitar lick after “Imma gonna make you sound like” is pretty clever.

    I started tuning it out halfway through though. It doesn’t seem like a good single choice to me. It’s a good album song though.

  2. planetangst says:

    Some radio stations have already picked it up over Please Don’t Go ( which I LOATHE). It really grew on me because my kids love it. I like the guitar lick too! It reminds me of something and I can’t put my finger on it.

    Saga- I put it under the other post because I didn’t want to crowd out the numbers thread, But if it’s okay with you guys it’s fine with me. did we ever figure out how to maybe sticky the numbers thread?

  3. jtfacts says:

    I can’t listen to this where I am right now, but I will later. I just want to say that I think Posner is a douche. Don’t really have a good reason for thinking that–perhaps an irrational dislike of Duke grads? I dunno.

  4. jchang365 says:

    LOL, I think Posner is a douche too, and I really don’t have any evidence to back that up either. He just looks so freaking smarmy and douchy when he sings live (to a really loud back track, btw). I listened to a radio interview with him, and the things he said about college really made me laugh because I could totally relate (filling up a 20 page term paper with figures and graphs at the end), but looking at him is another thing entirely. :-/

    I know that this track is one of the more popular ones from his album on iTunes. Idk if it’s the best single choice though. Then again, to me, “Cooler Than Me” was so good that everything else kind of seems disappointing.

  5. cosem says:

    Miss for me. Booooring. And there is sth about this man’s voice that I don’t like. I still have the feeling that Posner = one hit wonder..

  6. sagajo says:

    His voice is very whiny. Still, the song is decent but a bit monotonous. Maybe radio will give a slower song a try for once?

  7. planetangst says:

    It’ll be interesting to see if it hits. My kids are pretty good at this stuff and were the ones who introduced me to Bruno and Posner and B.O.B long before they came out.

    I USED to be good at this stuff, but I am feeling like I lost my Mojo after XXXO by MIA went nowhere…
    And FYE.

  8. jtfacts says:

    Too slow for me. The tempo does no favors to Posner’s voice. No idea if it could do well or not on pop, but I think Bruno might be occupying the space for songs like this right now.

    I love XXXO PA! Perhaps Top 40 views M.I.A. as more of an alternative artist? I know that cash register song was big (god, did I grow to hate that song!), but that was a rather flukey hit.

    • planetangst says:

      Saga loves it too- I have no idea why that song never took off. Just goes to show I guess.

      Loved Paper Planes and loved it even more after it was featured in the trailer for Pineapple Express and Slumdog Millionaire.

  9. lindag23 says:

    Every time I hear Mike Posner the first word that comes to mind for me is “precious” as in “affectedly or excessively delicate, refined, or nice”. Is that the same thing as smarmy?

  10. sagajo says:

    I really like xxxo but I think it flopping more had to do with MIA than the song?

    For the uninitiated, xxxo

  11. sagajo says:

    Linda, that’s a weird association!

  12. planetangst says:

    I think I know what lindag means though- he’s got that metrosexual look to him where he is a little too overgroomed and talks a little too smooth.

    I know MIA has a big mouth and has said stuff about Lady Gaga- is that what you meant saga? That she is known as difficult or something?

  13. jtfacts says:

    Precious and smarmy are different things to me, but Posner definitely seems smarmy to me.

    M.I.A. is known for having a big mouth/being difficult. I don’t know how fair that rep is, although that thing where she tweeted a journalist’s phone number after he wrote an an unflattering piece about her (I think in the NYT) suggests there is something to it.

  14. jchang365 says:

    Ehhh, I don’t think that XXXO song is very good. I could see why it didn’t get picked up by radio, even if M.I.A. was an angel. That video is really…er, different. lol

    For someone who puts on a “precious” personality, I think of Tommy when he’s on stage.
    When I think of someone smarmy, I think of someone who leers at you, looks kind of dishonest, and thinks he knows something that I don’t. He also may or may not be greasy-looking, haha.

  15. lindag23 says:

    I know, it’s weird but it just pops into my head every time, right before I briefly turn off the radio. Maybe it is more of a Gollum (“my preciouzzz”) reference with that high-pitched accusatory tone and rather affected “cooler dan me” from an Duke student born in Detroit (Wiki is my friend) and I don’t mean to go on but I liked the lyrics, I thought they were clever and just could not understand why I did not like the song. Thanks for the forum to talk about it.

    I listened to XXXO just now and thought it was OK but not great. Again I resorted to Wiki to discover she is somewhat of a political activist and that with the big mouth being discussed, may be the reason the song did not get much play. Much has been made of the conservative nature of PDs and so I wonder if the abundance of Arabic in the MV could have played into it, with the current political discussion here in the US?

Leave a Reply

